How does one appropriately approach a web design gallery?

Chris Thurman of Visual Swirl provides some insight and professional opinion as to where one should begin.

In his article, we note is a first-person based tips-and-tricks guidebook to exploring a web design gallery and its elements in the modern age. Thurman stresses the importance of staying sharp and maintaining a balanced but open mindset when purveying certain elements (footers, headers, font type, font size). When navigating web design galleries, he recommends that you allot a particular amount of time so as to avoid “information overload” or, for lack of better words, “zombification.” This plays very well off of the concept that we are in fact constantly immersed in an informational-dense environment. Among the many useful tidbits Thurman provided, my favorite was perhaps the topic of “First Impressions,” particularly the 5-second test that he describes. Information is present in a very rapid-fire manner in the 21st century, and so I thought it was rather wise of him to include a series of highly applicable methods to test our absorption rates.

Having lauded Thurman, I do feel the need to note a particular gray area, which is the “Compare and Contrast” test. I say this because earlier in the passage, he indicates that there is a variety of mediums and audiences that will be reached, and so you should focus on broadcasting for a “certain type of website,” and yet we must perform a visual side-by-side comparison to determine the more effective web design. Being such a minor flaw, it is hardly worth discussing.

I found Thurman’s article to be somewhat stimulating such that I have already been aware of these small “visual markers,” but I had not been entirely alert so as to actively seek them out. Now that they have been brought to my attention and I have been equipped with a series of approaches and third-party applications, I can utilize many of Thurman’s suggestions and further my analysis of the interwebs.

